El Salvador Empowers Diplomatic Representatives To Consular Excellence, Hosting The First Ever Congress of Honorary Consuls.

The Government of President Nayib Bukele places great importance on its foreign policy, which plays a crucial role in developing strong relationships with allied countries that see El Salvador as a strategic partner, a collaborator, and a friend. Consequently, the government is committed to strengthening the country’s diplomatic representation beyond its borders.

Chancellor Alejandra Hill Tinoco, together with Vice President Félix Ulloa, Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs Adriana Mira, and Vice Minister of Diaspora and Human Mobility Ciny Portal, led the first Congress of Honorary Consuls. The congress aims to enhance the working capacities of these representatives, which is essential for El Salvador’s foreign policy efforts.

“Rarely have I felt such immense emotion as I do today, because we are accompanied by representatives from over 48 countries who believed in us half a century ago, and continue to believe in us,” said Alexandra Hill.

This congress includes representatives from the Americas, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Africa, and Oceania, demonstrating the commitment of these officials to working with President Bukele’s government. The President is determined to broaden the knowledge of consuls, who are responsible for providing assistance to Salvadorans abroad while promoting the country on a global scale.

Vice President Ulloa emphasized that El Salvador holds the pro tempore presidency of the Central American Integration System (SICA). He recalled, “In June 2019, President Bukele received the pro tempore presidency of the system in Guatemala. On that occasion, by executive mandate and agreement, President Bukele delegated to the vice presidency the responsibility for all Central American integration matters.” Ulloa addressed the honorary consuls during the event.

The following are some of the countries represented by honorary consuls attending the congress: Canada, Puerto Rico, the United States, Guatemala, Honduras, Haiti, Paraguay, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Germany, Hungary, Belgium, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Spain, France, the Principality of Monaco, Portugal, Italy, among others.